Public adjuster license requirements by state
46 states license public adjusters and most require a state exam; 4 do not license the role. Approved prelicensing courses are required in only a handful of states, bonds run from $1,000 to $50,000, and most states require about 24 hours of continuing education every two years. The table lists what each state’s own statutes and regulator pages say, as recorded in the AdjusterBase course sources.
Requirements table: all 50 states
Click a state for the full “license at a glance” table, the sources and the free practice questions. “Not stated” means the course sources we recorded do not state that item; it does not mean there is no requirement.
| State | Licensed? | Exam | Prelicensing course | Bond | Continuing education | Regulator |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | No | No state exam | n/a | n/a | n/a | Alabama Department of Insurance |
| Alaska | No | No state exam | n/a | n/a | n/a | Alaska Division of Insurance |
| Arizona | Yes | 70% to pass, PSI | Not stated | Not stated | DIFI states no CE is required for ordinary adjuster-license renewal. | Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions (DIFI) |
| Arkansas | Restricted | Not licensed (restricted) | n/a | n/a | n/a | Arkansas Insurance Department |
| California | Yes | 100 questions, 165 min, 70% to pass, PSI | 20-hour approved course | $20,000 bond | 24 hours / 2 years | California Department of Insurance |
| Colorado | Yes | 30 questions, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $20,000 bond | Not stated | Colorado Division of Insurance |
| Connecticut | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, 70% to pass, Pearson VUE | 40-hour approved course | Not stated | Connecticut states public adjusters have no continuing-education requirement. | Connecticut Insurance Department |
| Delaware | Yes | 50 questions, 75 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $20,000 bond | 12 hours / each biennium | Delaware Department of Insurance |
| Florida | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $50,000 bond | Four-hour license-specific update plus 20 elective hours (16 elective with six or more years). | Florida Department of Financial Services |
| Georgia | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, Pearson VUE | Approved course required | $5,000 bond | Not stated | Georgia Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire (OCI) |
| Hawaii | Yes | 80 questions, 105 min, Pearson VUE | No approved course required | $10,000 bond | Not stated | Hawaii Insurance Division |
| Idaho | Yes | 50 questions, 75 min | No approved course required | $20,000 bond | 24 hours / 2 years | Idaho Department of Insurance |
| Illinois | Yes | Pearson VUE | No approved course required | $50,000 bond | 24 hours / 2 years | Illinois Department of Insurance |
| Indiana | Yes | 60 questions, 60 min, 70% to pass | Not stated | $10,000 bond | Not stated | Indiana Department of Insurance |
| Iowa | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $50,000 bond | 24 hours / biennium | Iowa Insurance Division |
| Kansas | Yes | 50 questions, 90 min, 70% to pass, Pearson VUE | No approved course required | No fixed amount; commissioner may require a reasonable surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit | 18 hours / biennium | Kansas Department of Insurance |
| Kentucky | Yes | Exam required | Not stated | $50,000 bond | Not stated | Kentucky Department of Insurance |
| Louisiana | Yes | PSI (Series 301) | Not stated | $50,000 bond | 24 hours / biennial | Louisiana Department of Insurance |
| Maine | Yes | 50 questions, 60 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | Not stated | Bureau states Maine adjusters have no CE requirement | Maine Bureau of Insurance |
| Maryland | Yes | 50 questions, 90 min, Prometric | Not stated | Not stated | 24 hours / 2 years | Maryland Insurance Administration |
| Massachusetts | Yes | 100 questions, Pearson VUE | Not stated | Not stated | 15 hours / three years | Massachusetts Division of Insurance |
| Michigan | Yes | 100 questions, 71% to pass, PSI | No approved course required | Not stated | Not stated | Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) |
| Minnesota | Yes | 35 questions, 60 min, 70% to pass, PSI | No approved course required | $10,000 bond | 24 hours / biennium | Minnesota Department of Commerce |
| Mississippi | Yes | 50 questions | 20-hour approved course | $50,000 bond | 24 hours / license period of 19 to 24 months | Mississippi Insurance Department |
| Missouri | Yes | 50 questions, 60 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $10,000 bond | Not stated | Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance |
| Montana | Yes | 50 questions, 60 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $5,000 bond | 24 hours / biennial | Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance (CSI) |
| Nebraska | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, 70% to pass, PSI | Not stated | $20,000 bond | 24 hours / biennial renewal cycle | Nebraska Department of Insurance |
| Nevada | Yes | 90 questions, 120 min, Pearson VUE | Approved course required | Not stated | 24 hours / three-year license term | Nevada Division of Insurance |
| New Hampshire | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, PSI | Not stated | $20,000 bond | 15 hours / biennium | New Hampshire Insurance Department |
| New Jersey | Yes | 70 questions, 210 min, 70% to pass, PSI | Not stated | $10,000 bond | Continuing education applies to renewal | New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance (NJDOBI) |
| New Mexico | Yes | minimum score 70, PSI | Not stated | $10,000 bond | 24 hours / 24-month compliance period | New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance (OSI) |
| New York | Yes | Exam required | Not stated | $1,000 bond | 15 hours / each biennial licensing period | New York Department of Financial Services (DFS) |
| North Carolina | Yes | 2 hours 15 minutes, scaled 70 to pass, Pearson VUE 36 | No approved course required | $20,000 bond | 24 hours / each biennial compliance period | North Carolina Department of Insurance (NCDOI) |
| North Dakota | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, 70% to pass, PSI | Not stated | $20,000 bond | 24 hours / biennially | North Dakota Insurance Department |
| Ohio | Yes | Exam required | Not stated | $1,000 bond | Not stated | Ohio Department of Insurance (ODI) |
| Oklahoma | Yes | 70% to pass, PSI | Not stated | $25,000 bond | 24 hours / prior 24 months | Oklahoma Insurance Department (OID) |
| Oregon | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, 70% to pass, PSI | No approved course required | Financial-responsibility evidence in the director's prescribed format; no fixed bond amount in the reviewed rules | 24 hours / before each biennial renewal | Oregon Division of Financial Regulation (DFR) |
| Pennsylvania | Yes | 60 questions, 80 min, 70% to pass, PSI | Not stated | $20,000 bond | 24 hours / each two-year license period | Pennsylvania Insurance Department (PID) |
| Rhode Island | Yes | 50 questions, 1 hour, scaled 70 to pass, Pearson VUE 17 | Not stated | Not stated | 24 hours / every two years | Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation (DBR), Insurance Division |
| South Carolina | Yes | 60 questions, 65 min, scaled 70 to pass, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $20,000 bond | 24 hours / biennial | South Carolina Department of Insurance |
| South Dakota | No | No state exam | n/a | n/a | n/a | South Dakota Division of Insurance |
| Tennessee | Yes | 50 questions, 60 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $50,000 bond | 24 hours / biennial, with renewal | Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance |
| Texas | Yes | 100 questions, 120 min, Pearson VUE | Not stated | $10,000 bond | 24 hours / 2-year license period | Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) |
| Utah | Yes | 150 questions, 150 min, Prometric (Series 17-11, Adjuster's Property and Casualty) | No approved course required | Not stated | 24 hours / each two-year period | Utah Insurance Department |
| Vermont | Yes | 150 questions, 150 min, Prometric (series 14-33, Adjuster's Property and Casualty) | Not stated | Reviewed VT public-adjuster provisions supply no model-act bond | DFR says public adjusters have no CE requirement | Vermont Department of Financial Regulation (DFR) |
| Virginia | Yes | 50 questions, 60 min, Prometric (Series 11-08) | Not stated | $50,000 bond | 24 hours / each 24-month period | Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance |
| Washington | Yes | 100 questions, 135 min, 70% to pass, PSI (Adjuster examination) | Not stated | $5,000 bond | 24 hours / each renewal period | Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner (OIC) |
| West Virginia | Yes | 45 questions, 45 min, Pearson VUE (InsWV-PubAdj17) | No approved course required | Not stated | 24 hours / per biennium | West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner |
| Wisconsin | Yes | 60 min, 70% to pass, PSI (WI Public Adjuster Series 22-15) | Not stated | $20,000 bond | 15 hours / each biennium | Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) |
| Wyoming | Yes | 150 questions, 150 min, 70% to pass, Pearson VUE (exam code 47, Property and Casualty Consultant) | Not stated | Not stated | 24 hours / each two-year licensing period | Wyoming Department of Insurance |
States where no approved prelicensing course is required
These states, per the sources recorded in their courses, let you sit for the exam without first completing an approved course: Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Utah, West Virginia. This is where self-study matters most: the exam is the whole gate, and the bank of practice questions you work through decides it.
States that require an approved course
California, Connecticut, Georgia, Mississippi, Nevada. In these states an approved provider’s course is mandatory. AdjusterBase is not an approved provider anywhere; use it alongside the approved course for practice questions, flashcards and timed readiness exams.
States that do not license public adjusters
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, South Dakota. The AdjusterBase courses for these states cover who may act for a policyholder, the unauthorized-practice and public adjusting restrictions, and property claim skills.
How to read the exam column
Question counts and time limits come from the vendor candidate handbook or regulator page cited in the course. Some states publish a scaled passing score (70 on a scale) rather than a percentage; the column says “scaled” in those cases. Fees shown are the exam fee only; application, fingerprint and license fees are on each state page where the course records them.
Frequently asked questions
Which states do not require a prelicensing course for the public adjuster exam?
In the course sources we recorded, 10 licensing states state that no approved prelicensing course is required before the exam: Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Utah, West Virginia. Several other states do not mention a course requirement at all. Confirm with the regulator; rules change.
Which states require an approved prelicensing course?
California (20 hours), Connecticut (40 hours), Georgia, Mississippi (20 hours), Nevada. In those states you must complete an approved provider's course; independent study such as AdjusterBase supplements it.
Which states do not license public adjusters?
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, South Dakota. Each state page explains who may negotiate a claim for a policyholder there and what the AdjusterBase course covers instead.
How much is a public adjuster bond?
Bond amounts recorded in the courses range from $1,000 to $50,000, with $20,000 and $50,000 the most common figures. Several states use a letter of credit or set the amount by rule. See the table for each state.
Where do these numbers come from?
Every row is taken from the statutes, regulations and regulator pages cited in that state's AdjusterBase course edition, with the last recorded source check shown on the state page (latest 2026-10-22). They are study references, not legal advice.